UNWASTED WORDS

Angels & Demons

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices) by Cassandra Clare

Angels:
If your a fan of Ms. Clare’s first trilogy than your going to love Clockwork as well. I have to admit, I was not particularly excited about this book, because I really wasn’t ready to move on from the City of series and it’s characters, but I really enjoyed this book. I am a convert, and the last page left me wanting more. Clare does it again in the Mortal Instruments’ prequel Clockwork Angel. The language and dialogue was extremely witty, I found the VIctorian era suited this paranormal world, and I loved the interaction of the characters. The scenes where everyone was having their meals were my favorite, they were funny, let you get to know the cast in a more intimate way, and created a sense of family. Our heroine Tessa is a far more fierce female lead than Clary. Tessa’s character is a kin to Jo from Little Women, a very modern, well read, lower class hard working american, who knows life isn’t easy but is willing to do what has to be done. Then there’s Will, he appears to be just like Jace, but where Jace is the wild, contained, what you see is what you get, not wanting to be close to anyone, so as not to get hurt, Will is not what he seems. Will wants to appear the cad, wants everyone to think the worse of him, needs to keep everyone away, but I think he longs for the closeness he keeps away. Jem is a wildcard and the third wheel to what is sure to be a love triangle. He has an interesting past, with a compromised future, not my pick for the leading man but definitely has a shot. Then there’s Jessie, the reluctant shadow hunter. I find her storyline the most intriguing, and kind of wish she had her own series, there is just so much potential there. I am also looking forward to a bigger role for the young master Lightwood.

Demons:
What I didn’t like so much is a lack deviation from MI. I do think Clockwork had enough changes with the time period, industrial technology, and writing that it can stand apart, but I wish she could’ve changed it up even more. The formula of two female and two male teenage leads, was too much like MI. The overall premise of Tessa trying to save a family member, and getting help from the local Nephilim. And Will is a lot like Jace. I also hated Thomas’ storyline, I’m not going to spoil it but he deserves better. I don’t feel Clockwork is a carbon copy but I am hoping that the series will become drastically different from MI.

But don’t let the demons steer you away from this book. Clockwork is a lot alike, but it’s a lot of the stuff that made me and I am guessing you love Mortal Instruments. Clare’s writing and structure is noticeably stronger. I think the obstacles and resolutions will be much more solid then in MI. And best of all the potential tie ins to the next set of MI books, and honestly greatness is well within the confines of the foundation built into Clockwork Angel, I personal cannot wait to see where the Infernal Devices goes next. I believe this is going to be a wonderful companion series.

Vote yay or nay for this review on Amazon here.

4 stars -loved it!

Leave a Reply

