UNWASTED WORDS

A Charmingly Quirky Perfect Pick

Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clement-Moore

Texas Gothic is filled with charming quirkiness, and great writing. What’s there not to like with a cute cranky cowboy, tree climbing Houdini goats, Go Go Gadget Gidget girl, rump scratching cows, and a love story like a prize fight.

Amy Goodnight is an island of normal in a sea of crazy. As the self appointed Gatekeeper, Amy straddles the line between magic and mundane constantly providing damage control for her above average family. The Goodnight’s are witches, each with a different affinity, and to the dismay of Amy, none of them are shy about their abilities.

Amy’s PR talents are about to be tested. She and her sister Phin are looking after their Aunt Hy’s farm for the summer. Everyone in the small Texas town has an opinion about the crazy Goodnights and it doesn’t help that the sleepy town has seemingly awaken with paranormal activity since the girls arrival. There’s quite a lot of chatter about a rogue ghost on the loose knocking people out, skeletal remains are popping up at the perpetually cranky yet hunky neighbor’s ranch, and a spirit is personally haunting Amy.

Amy is going to have to except who and what she is, find some balance between her two worlds, and along with her friends, they are going to have figure out what’s really going on with the pestering poltergeist to save her Goodnight name and possibly her life.

Clement-Moore doesn’t write hardcore paranormal, she writes normal with a certain slant of the unusual. Rosemary’s strength is her witty writing style, and wonderfully rich characters, which hits a definite high in Texas Gothic. In most books the main character is the author’s focus in development and spotlight. Here the supporting cast doesn’t get left behind but blossomed. I loved all the players in this book. They were interesting and distinctive like her work. Fans of Hex Hall and Paranormalcy will like the snarky quirky prose.

There’s nothing negative I can say. Lots of laughs. Great characters, good story line, a romantic love story, and perfect prose that pulls you in. If you need a literary vacation then pick up a copy of Texas Gothic and get completely entrench by the writing.

Vote yay or nay for this review on Amazon here.

5 stars -loved it!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: