UNWASTED WORDS

30 Second Frown

I love getting a deal on dental care. So when the 30 Second Smile toothbrush popped up on Jill’s Steals and Deals one morning on the Today Show, I couldn’t pass it up. Boy, am I glad I got a this for a steal, otherwise I would have been doubly unhappy.

The kit I received was great value it came with the mechanical brush, soft and medium bristle heads, a tongue scraper, brush stand, batteries, and a whitening system. But I’m only reviewing the brush right now since I haven’t tried the whiteners.

You’re suppose to start off with the soft brush heads for the first week or so to get your gums use to the gyrating action of the two brushes. Once assembled the bristles face each other, so when you’re cleaning your teeth they create a sandwich effect with your teeth between the two brush heads. I found this awkward. It was also difficult to get toothpaste on the damn thing, trying to squeeze it between the brush heads. That magic trick was followed by trying to keep the paste on while I got my teeth in position.

Did I mention this contraption was awkward? The toothbrush is unflexible, and can take some creative positioning to reach around the arch along one’s bite. I found I had to switch hands and flip the brush upside down to do the other half of my mouth. Which can get annoying, plus the brushes can only cover the front and backside of your teeth. The design can’t reach you actual bite, it was like washing the sides of your car and neglecting the roof.

My teeth did feel clean (the outsides at least), my gums rubbed raw (can’t have it all I suppose), but what I really learned was that I like to be able to maneuver my toothbrush. Choose the angles and stroke patterns to clean all the planes of my teeth and mouth. So learn from my experience and save a few dollars, skip this flawed product and pick up a Colgate 360 Sonic Power toothbrush for around $8.00 at your local drugstore, I find it’s a much better design at an even better price.

For more information on the 30 Second Smile visit the website here

Leave a Reply

