UNWASTED WORDS

Book of the Week!!! 02/13-02/20

I don’t read a lot of what I think of as straight fiction, it’s too grounded in reality. I prefer a complete getaway into the abnormal by way of fantasy, sci-fi, or the supernatural. So when I find a book outside my usual fictius fare it’s got to be something special. Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell is kind of a big deal because I don’t endorse non-paranormal fiction lightly. I read one review where they described Beat the Reaper as a cross between the Sopranos and House. It’s gritty, with strong language and violence, but the main character is a fascinating study of contradictions. He’s a hitman, doctor, intelligent, thug, Peter’s a character that just doesn’t pop up everyday. The writing is also very dynamic, and clinical. If you get a chance pick up the audiobook the narrator is amazing and all the heavy technical medical asides become enthralling when acted out for you. And of course I can’t get enough of the Saul Bass like cover art.

Order  a copy of  Beat the Reaper on Amazon here.

Leave a Reply

